full time metal fabricator/artist

Ladder fabrication

I was asked to make a ladder out of heavy duty rebar & some really nice steel bar stock.

After hearing my clients needs and making a quick prototype. I started cutting rebar & bending the steps. Here’s what that process looked like. Since I haven’t found a film crew to follow me around yet. You’ll have to deal with first person video 😛

After I got all cuts/bends for all the steps.  I fit everything up to make sure everything lined up like it should. It did, perfecto!

ladder fitup

I spent about ten minutes tacking up the steps & making sure they were square to the frame before welding. I then bolted down the ladder to the wood floor so the steel wouldn’t bow under the intense heat of the welder. I’m easily getting metal this thick to 10,000°F.

Forty five minutes later. Behold, a ladder.

IMG_20140317_175426_336

At 8½ feet tall & weighing over 75 pounds. This ladder will easily hold 750 pounds per step. All within 1/16″ square from top to bottom.

Here’s a sneak peak at the finished project after it’s received its waterproof seal.

ladder post coat

 

All of this work will be available for viewing in three short months!

share your thoughts,,